2010-2021 Classic Chinese Zodiac Series-Pure Silver 12 Coin Set


Year: 2010-2021

Regular price

Our Price:  

Sale price $1,249.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold out


After a 12-year run for the Royal Canadian Mint's first series of silver Chinese zodiac coins, the enduring popularity of this theme inspired this classic series featuring a stunning design for each animal. The collection includes a beautiful Asian-inspired display case; its hardwood exterior features a high-gloss finish and silk-screened paper. The interior has a gloss finish with a silver design. GST/HST exempt.

In the West, the new year is driven by the calendar and always falls on January 1. The Chinese New Year is determined by the lunar calendar that was introduced by Emperor Huang Ti in 2637 BCE to identify the first day of spring, a critical time for agriculture. This is why the Chinese New Year is also referred to as the Spring Festival.

The Spring Festival is celebrated roughly 45 days after the winter solstice. It occurs on the first new moon after the inception of spring; the midpoint between the winter solstice (December 21 or 22) and the spring equinox (March 20 or 21). This results in a year-to-year variation, which means that, for example, the 2011 year of the rabbit actually begins on February 3.

All 12 silver coins are included:
• 2010 $15 Zodiac Year of the Tiger
• 2011 $15 Zodiac Year of the Rabbit
• 2012 $15 Zodiac Year of the Dragon
• 2013 $15 Zodiac Year of the Snake
• 2014 $15 Zodiac Year of the Horse
• 2015 $15 Zodiac Year of the Sheep/Goat
• 2016 $15 Zodiac Year of the Monkey
• 2017 $15 Zodiac Year of the Rooster
• 2018 $15 Zodiac Year of the Dog
• 2019 $15 Zodiac Year of the Pig
• 2020 $15 Zodiac Year of the Rat
• 2021 $15 Zodiac Year of the Ox


Produced By: RCM
Denomination: 15 Dollars
Year: 2010-2021

Diameter: 38 mm
Material: Silver
Fineness: 0.9999
Weight: 31.39 grams (each) / 376.68 grams (total)
Bullion Weight: 1.009 Troy Ounces (each) / 12.109 Troy Ounces (total)

Reverse: Queen Elizabeth II
Artist: Aries Chung
Series: Classic Chinese Zodiac Series
Monarch: Queen Elizabeth II

You may also like